top of page
DSC03053-byKimLangie (1).jpg

THE COLLECTION

From art on the walls at home, to MErode. How did MErode come to be? An outline of where the collecting bug originates from.

 

The whole art story begins with Patric's parents. Albert Tuytens was a textiles entrepreneur. He and his wife started their collection by buying lithographs and bringing beautiful objects home from their travels. Later, they would take the plunge into modern art. From there, the passion edged towards contemporary art. Many of the contemporary pieces were displayed at home, but some found their way to the workplace. It was Albert’s goal to popularise art, and to share it with the personnel. He figured that, ‘Even if the workers didn't like art, at least they had seen it.’

 

His son Patric was surrounded by art and art objects and, as a boy, would even accompany his parents to galleries and exhibitions. For years, he and his wife Françoise collected art for their home. But Patric was short of space to show his own collection. He wanted somewhere that gave him a free hand in what to buy and where to display it. He was looking for a spacious building with plenty of natural light around Ronse. And found it on Mérode Street. The office rooms and warehousing give his works the space and pride of place they deserve. Now Patric gets to open his collection to the public, and history turns full circle.

485A2184.jpg

Patric's daughter, Marie, also grew up among the artworks. She would go on to attend the Royal Academy of Fine Arts in Antwerp, In Situ3 (site-specific installations). A piece of hers is actually exhibited in MErode. The ideal subject for her thesis, it turned out, was her grandparents’ collection. She began her career in a gallery, before moving into education. Despite the career change, art was never far from her heart. As her father's new project materialised, she threw herself into it with a passion.

DSC02906-byKimLangie-2 (1)
DSC03006-byKimLangie
DSC03021-byKimLangie (2)
DSC03047-byKimLangie (1)
DSC02827-byKimLangie (2)
DSC02986-byKimLangie-2 (1)
DSC02844-byKimLangie
bottom of page

top of page
DSC03053-byKimLangie (1).jpg

LA COLLECTION

De l'achat d'œuvres d’art pour la maison à MErode. Comment MErode a-t-il vu le jour? Voici un petit résumé de l'origine d'une rage de collectionner.
 

L'amour de l'art commence chez les parents de Patric. Albert Tuytens était chef d'entreprise dans le monde du textile. Son épouse et lui-même ont commencé une collection en achetant des lithographies et en rapportant de beaux objets de leurs voyages. Ils ont ensuite franchi le pas vers l'art moderne et, progressivement, ont développé une passion pour l'art contemporain. Bon nombre d'œuvres contemporaines étaient exposées à leur domicile, mais aussi dans l'entreprise. L'objectif d'Albert Tuytens était de rapprocher l'art et les gens, y compris son personnel. Son idée ? 'Même si le personnel n'aime pas l'art, au moins il l'aura vu.'
 

Pendant toute sa vie, son fils Patric a été entouré d'art et d'objets. Dès son plus jeune âge, il allait visiter des galeries et des expositions. Avec son épouse Françoise, il collectionne des œuvres d'art pour leur domicile depuis de nombreuses années. Il manquait toutefois d'espace pour ranger toute sa collection et recherchait un lieu où il pourrait décider lui-même de ce qu'il achète et de l'endroit où l'exposer. Cela faisait un petit temps qu'il était à la recherche d'un endroit dans les environs de Renaix, spacieux et baigné de lumière. Il l'a trouvé dans la rue de Mérode. Les bureaux et les entrepôts offrent à ses œuvres le lieu et l'espace qu'elles méritent. De cette façon, Patric fait connaître sa collection au grand public, et l'histoire se répète.

485A2184.jpg

Marie, la fille de Patric, a elle aussi grandi parmi les œuvres d'art. Elle a ensuite étudié l'art à l'Académie royale des beaux-arts d'Anvers, In Situ3 (installations spécifiques à des sites). L'une de ses œuvres est d'ailleurs exposée à MErode. La collection de ses grands-parents a constitué le sujet idéal de sa thèse. Après avoir commencé sa carrière dans une galerie, elle s'est orientée vers l'enseignement. En dépit de ce changement de cap, l'art n'a jamais été bien loin. Lorsque le nouveau projet de son père s'est concrétisé, elle s'est engagée à ses côtés, avec plaisir et dynamisme.

DSC02906-byKimLangie-2 (1)
DSC03006-byKimLangie
DSC03021-byKimLangie (2)
DSC03047-byKimLangie (1)
DSC02827-byKimLangie (2)
DSC02986-byKimLangie-2 (1)
DSC02844-byKimLangie
bottom of page